Volunteer Training & Resources

Thank you for volunteering with JABC!

Prior to volunteering in a classroom (either in person or virtually), you will be required to participate in program-specific training. These sessions are important as they provide you with info about:

  • Your role as a volunteer
  • The host teacher’s role
  • What to expect from and how to connect with the students
  • An overview of the lessons
  • How to facilitate the activities – tips and techniques
  • Materials you will bring to the classroom

Please see the 2020 Virtual Volunteer Training Dates below.

So you are well prepared for your volunteer sessions, please plan additional time on your own to review the program materials.

Volunteer Handbook

Find out more about volunteering with JABC and the expectations of a volunteer.

View Volunteer Handbook

Virtual Program Training Dates

Join other JABC Volunteers and BC Educators for live training via Zoom. Simply select your JA Program below, pick one of the scheduled training sessions 1-2 weeks before your volunteer date and click to register! Once registered, you will receive a Zoom confirmation email and your JABC Program trainer will be in touch with further details.

If you have any additional questions, please contact a member of our Program Team.

Note: These training sessions run for 90 minutes.

Elementary School Programs

Mon Sept 14 12 pm Register
Mon Sept 21 3 pm Register
Mon Sept 28 5 pm Register
Mon Oct 5 12 pm Register
Mon Oct 19 3 pm Register
Mon Oct 26 5 pm Register
Mon Nov 2 12 pm Register
Mon Nov 9 3 pm Register
Mon Nov 16 5 pm Register
Mon Nov 23 12 pm Register
Mon Nov 30 3 pm Register
Mon Dec 7 5 pm Register
Tue Sept 15 12 pm Register
Tue Sept 22 3 pm Register
Tue Sept 29 5 pm Register
Tue Oct 6 12 pm Register
Tue Oct 13 3 pm Register
Tue Oct 20 5 pm Register
Tue Oct 27 12 pm Register
Tue Nov 3 3 pm Register
Tue Nov 10 5 pm Register
Tue Nov 17 12 pm Register
Tue Nov 24 3 pm Register
Tue Dec 1 5 pm Register
Wed Sept 16 12 pm Register
Wed Sept 23 3 pm Register
Wed Sept 30 5 pm Register
Wed Oct 7 12 pm Register
Wed Oct 14 3 pm Register
Wed Oct 21 5 pm Register
Wed Oct 28 12 pm Register
Wed Nov 4 3 pm Register
Wed Nov 18 12 pm Register
Wed Nov 25 3 pm Register
Wed Dec 2 5 pm Register

Middle School Programs

Thu Sept 17 12 pm Register
Thu Sept 24 3 pm Register
Thu Oct 1 5 pm Register
Thu Oct 8 12 pm Register
Thu Oct 15 3 pm Register
Thu Oct 22 5 pm Register
Thu Oct 29 12 pm Register
Thu Nov 5 3 pm Register
Thu Nov 12 5 pm Register
Thu Nov 19 12 pm Register
Thu Nov 26 3 pm Register
Thu Dec 3 5 pm Register
Fri Sept 18 12 pm Register
Fri Sept 25 3 pm Register
Fri Oct 2 12 pm Register
Fri Oct 9 12 pm Register
Fri Oct 16 3 pm Register
Fri Oct 23 12 pm Register
Fri Oct 30 12 pm Register
Fri Nov 6 3 pm Register
Fri Nov 13 12 pm Register
Fri Nov 20 12 pm Register
Fri Nov 27 3 pm Register
Fri Dec 4 12 pm Register

High School Programs

Thu Sept 17 3 pm Register
Thu Oct 1 12 pm Register
Thu Oct 15 5 pm Register
Thu Oct 29 3 pm Register
Thu Nov 12 12 pm Register
Thu Nov 26 5 pm Register
Thu Dec 10 12 pm Register
Tue Sept 15 3 pm Register
Tue Sept 29 12 pm Register
Tue Oct 13 5 pm Register
Tue Oct 27 3 pm Register
Tue Nov 10 12 pm Register
Tue Nov 24 5 pm Register
Tue Dec 8 3 pm Register