Volunteer Training & Resources

Program Training

Prior to volunteering in a classroom (either in person or virtually), please join other JABC Volunteers and B.C. Educators for live training via Zoom. Simply select your JA Program below, pick one of the scheduled training sessions 1-2 weeks before your volunteer date and click to register!

Important: You must be a registered JABC volunteer before you sign up for program training. Not yet registered in our system? Just go to our New Volunteer Registration page to create an account!

Program Training Dates

Please only sign up for one session at a time. Once registered, you will receive a Zoom confirmation email and your JABC Program trainer will be in touch with further details.

These training sessions run for 90 minutes. The content focuses on delivering each specific JA program, not on volunteering in a virtual setting.

Volunteer Handbook

Find out more about volunteering with JABC and the expectations of a volunteer.

View Volunteer Handbook

Elementary School Programs

Mon Sept 20 12pm
Mon Oct 4 3pm
Mon Oct 18 5pm
Mon Nov 1 12pm
Mon Nov 15 3pm
Mon Nov 29 5pm
Mon Dec 13 12pm
Fri Jan 7 12pm
Mon Jan 17 5pm
Mon Jan 31 12pm
Mon Feb 14 3pm
Mon Feb 28 5pm
Mon March 14 12pm
Mon March 28 3pm
Mon April 11 5pm
Mon April 25 12pm
Mon May 9 3pm
Mon May 23 5pm
Mon June 6 12pm
Mon June 20 3pm
Tues Sept 21 12pm
Tues Oct 5 3pm
Tues Oct 19 5pm
Tues Nov 2 12pm
Tues Nov 16 3pm
Tues Nov 30 5pm
Tues Dec 14 12pm
Tues Jan 4 3pm
Tues Jan 18 5pm
Tues Feb 1 12pm
Tues Feb 15 3pm
Tues Mar 1 5pm
Tues Mar 15 12pm
Tues Mar 29 3pm
Tues Apr 12 5pm
Tues Apr 26 12pm
Tues May 10 3pm
Tues May 24 5pm
Tues June 7 12pm
Thurs Sept 23 12pm
Thurs Oct 7 3pm
Thurs Oct 21 5pm
Thurs Nov 4 12pm
Thurs Nov 18 3pm
Thurs Dec 2 5pm
Thurs Dec 16 12pm
Thurs Jan 6 3pm
Thurs Jan 20 5pm
Thurs Feb 3 12pm
Thurs Feb 17 3pm
Thurs Mar 3 5pm
Thurs Mar 17 12pm
Thurs Mar 31 3pm
Thurs Apr 14 5pm
Thurs Apr 28 12pm
Thurs May 12 3pm
Thurs May 26 5pm
Thurs June 9 12pm
Wed Sept 22 12pm
Wed Oct 6 3pm
Wed Oct 20 5pm
Wed Nov 3 12pm
Wed Nov 17 3pm
Wed Dec 1 5pm
Wed Dec 15 12pm
Wed Jan 5 3pm
Wed Jan 19 5pm
Wed Feb 2 12pm
Wed Feb 16 3pm
Wed Mar 2 5pm
Wed Mar 16 12pm
Wed Mar 30 3pm
Wed April 13 5pm
Wed April 27 12pm
Wed May 11 3pm
Wed May 25 5pm
Wed June 8 12pm
Wed June 22 3pm

High School Programs

Wed Oct 6 5pm
Wed Oct 20 12pm
Wed Nov 3 3pm
Wed Nov 17 5pm
Wed Dec 1 12pm
Wed Dec 15 3pm
Wed Jan 5 5pm
Thurs Oct 7 5pm
Thurs Oct 21 12pm
Thurs Nov 4 3pm
Thurs Nov 18 5pm
Thurs Dec 2 12pm
Thurs Dec 16 3pm
Thurs Jan 6 5pm
Thurs Jan 20 12pm
Tues Oct 19 12pm
Tues Nov 2 3pm
Tues Nov 16 5pm
Tues Nov 29 12pm
Tues Dec 14 3pm
Tues Jan 4 5pm

To schedule training, please contact Avani at Avani.Karadkhedkar@jabc.org

Program training sessions are important as they provide you with info about:

  • Your role as a volunteer
  • The host teacher’s role
  • What to expect from and how to connect with the students
  • An overview of the lessons
  • How to facilitate the activities – tips and techniques
  • Materials you will bring to the classroom

So you are well prepared for your volunteer sessions, please plan additional time on your own to review the program materials.

Also please consider health & safety. Take a moment to view this important WorkSafeBC video about working from home.

If you have any additional questions, please contact a member of our Program Team.